Happy FOSS

Opensource, Technology, Programming & Computer Science

Security by obscurity

I have a long list of username and passwords for various websites.
I cannot remember all, sometimes i have to reset the password.
Writing down the passwords in clear text is against my wish.
But i dont mind keeping the passwords in cypher text lol
The technique i am employing is security by obscurity.
I am not going to leak out the encryption technique i am using to anyone.
This is currently a quick solution i can think of !
Will do cypher text analysis, gain knowlege by reading more and hopefully develop some better solution in future 🙂
For now happy that i have offloaded all username and passwords from my mind to a file and got it encrypted too 🙂
I can disclose that the language that i used to develop my encryption tool is C 😉

August 21, 2010 Posted by | Security | , | Leave a comment