Happy FOSS

Programming,Technology,

Yahoo Messenger EXE

I got a message from my friend on yahoo messenger containing the following ftp url of an exe file ftp://tlpoeil:yahoogoogle@ftp.members.lycos.co.uk/selfextract.exe

Please beware about downloading that exe file as it could be malicious.

Someone can dissassemble it and find out whats in it

june 17 2008:

As i am getting lot of hits for this topic, and i myself got such links from my yahoo network friends.

I guess the vulnerability in yahoo messenger hasnt been fixed.

This vulnerability of yahoo messenger could be exploited, so beware of exe spreading across yahoo messenger that is sent without the knowledge of the person from whom you got it. It could be malicious.

March 27, 2008 - Posted by Din | Security | , , | 4 Comments

4 Comments »

  1. can u tell me what is the file about and iam not able to download that file…….

    Comment by what is the file for | April 7, 2008

  2. Nothing in that url. the folder is empty, dont wast your time on the below url
    ftp://tlpoeil:yahoogoogle@ftp.members.lycos.co.uk/selfextract.exe

    Comment by Tiger | April 8, 2008

  3. My thought is “what if tomorrow a malicious exe’s link spreads on yahoo messenger network ?”

    There must be some flaw in yahoo messenger as the user doesnt know such things are being sent from his id !

    making yahoo users vulnerable

    Comment by Din | April 8, 2008

  4. WHY SUH A DECEIVE ftp://tlpoeil:yahoogoogle@ftp.members.lycos.co.uk/selfextract.exe
    dooes not exist why should one have to waste time on such

    Comment by R | May 20, 2008

Leave a comment